Gina Warnes Costume

About Me

Gina Warnes

Growing up in Somerset I danced from a young age at a local dance school. By taking exams and performing in different shows, from professional companies to local panto to village fetes which introduced me to the world of live performance. This then developed into a career choice for me. I always enjoyed textiles and dress making so combined this with live performance and went to study at Arts University Bournemouth, where I received a First Class BA Honours Degree in Costume Design with Performance.

After learning many construction skills and working on university productions and I entered into my first costume job, in a menswear workroom where I continued to hone my skills. My next job took me into the world of wardrobe, which I truly love. I have since been in many different wardrobe teams of all different sizes, on countless different shows, in all capacities including Head of Department. I was introduced to musicals, plays, rep work, touring, character/animation costumes and more. I have continued to make from scratch where needed but also fit and alter all types of clothes, fix costumes at very short notice, quick change endlessly but also make a quick change area backstage in most theatres around the UK only to pack it up at the end of the week.

I enjoy working with a team to create and run a show smoothly, to make not only the audience enjoy the show but the actors and backstage team enjoy it too. Problem solving at short notice is the biggest challenge in wardrobe but it is what keeps things interesting. I am still trying to learn new skills but also teach others what I have learnt.

My aim is to continue working in the costume industry, in wardrobe but also making or altering for others. I have my own space and equipment - Sewing machine, Overlocker, Mannequin etc, so can work from home or I am used to moving/touring so willing relocate or travel for work.

Please feel free to contact me about one offs, short contracts or permanent work. You can find my full C.V. and experience on my Mandy profile.